Listening and its not



In stock

Listening and its not

Listening and its not brings together nineteen text realisations of a score by Patrick Farmer. The score invites performers to travel exactly 10 miles north of their home and write about the experience of listening”without pointing directly to it, or at it”.

With contributions from some of the most original voices to emerge in the field of writing in sound art practice over the last 10 years, including Daniela Cascella, Lawrence English, Sarah Hughes, Amelia Ishmael, Richard Pinnell, Salomé Voegelin and Mark Peter Wright. Listening and its not invites readers to rethink the act of listening as an internal, imaginative, discursive, dialogic and political terrain. The resultant texts range from the personal, scientific, informative and polemical. They provoke questions around the nature of location and our experience of place and, by refusing description, the act of listening is presented as a form of correspondence that reaches far further than the nineteen encounters that form the basis of this book.

Listening and its not (62 pages, digital print, paperback) Numbered edition of 500.
Published by Compost and Height and the Sonic Art Research Unit.

Listening and its not is made up of texts by John Boursnell, Daniela Cascella, Lawrence English, Nomi Epstein, Felicity Ford, Sarah Hughes, Amelia Ishmael, Jeph Jerman, Rob St. John, Caleb Kelly, Catherine Lamb, Richard Pinnell, Dawn Scarfe, David Stent, Nathan Thomas, Stefan Thut, Esther Venrooy, Salomé Voegelin, Mark Peter Wright, Paul Whitty, and Patrick Farmer.

0 WooCommerce Floating Cart

No products in the cart.